top of page


A priest whose name is not now known was installed by Geoffrey de Mandeville


Domesday Book

Carshalton, which had been five manors under King Edward the Confessor, was given by William the Conqueror as one manor to Geoffrey de Mandeville; the Lord of the Manor probably had the right to select clergy for the local church.

12th year of the reign of King Henry II, that is, 19th Dec 1165 to 18th Dec 1166

Pharamus de Boulogne transferred the advowson (the right to choose a priest) for Carshalton plus the right to Tithes to Merton Priory. Priors of Merton were "Rector" of Carshalton until the Priory was dissolved.


Alanus Presbyter was priest, having been installed by Faramus de Boulogne.


Hugo de Kersawelton was priest, having been installed by Merton Priory.


Walter Capellanus was priest, having been installed by Merton Priory

April 1291

Roger de Patrikesburn was priest, having been installed by Merton Priory.

18 June 1301

William de Hatferd

28 May 1306

William de Hovingham was installed, having been appointed by Edward I on 5 May 1306

15 June 1309

Walter de Walsokne

24 May 1330

Roger Cole

24 Feb. 1346

William de Middleton[18] (priested 22 Sep 1347)

6 May 1354

Roger de Sileby (or Dalby)

5 July 1361

Walter Lucas

18 August 1361

Richard de Gretton, appointed by Edward III

11 Dec. 1377

Peter de Estrodeham (alias Chekyn)

5 May 1385

Peter Barbour or Barbon (until 1392)

20 April 1391

Nicholas Asser (until 1394)

27 Feb. 1394 or 27 Feb. 1395

John Gernays or Gervays, appointed by John de Uvedale (until 1395)

4 June 1395

Richard Priour

19 May 1397

John Barbour of Milton Kaynes

5 May 1400

Nicholas Vyrly, appointed by Henry IV (until 3 August 1408)

3 August 1408

Robert Grene

12 November 1409

John Aynulph, MA

5 Feb. 1411 or 1427

Henry Bynne (or Lynne) (until 1452)


Peter Barron (until 1472)

12 Jan. 1453

John Clerk (until 1472)


no record of an appointment

8 July 1459

John Clerk

10 July 1472

John Persburgge (or Percebrigg) (died 1474)

1 Sept. 1474

John Hylle


John Leeke, released from Erdebury Priory, Warwickshire by papal bull of Pope Alexander VI in order to take up a parish appointment.

died 1493

A replica of a tomb fragment in the Lady Chapel shows Walter Gaynesford, Chaplain, who died on 10 May 1493, in mass vestments.

1525 ?

Richard Meltham 

2 Dec. 1527 or

3 Dec. 1527

Edmund Haltman (until 1536)

11 Oct. 1536

Miles Braithwaite MA (the last vicar appointed by Merton Priory) (until 1543)


After the Dissolution of Merton Priory in 1538 (or perhaps 1540) King Edward VI had the advowson (the right to choose a priest) until 1552; then it was bought and sold privately until 1961. All of the owners except royalty were related to Nicholas Gaynesford, buried in the Lady Chapel.

17 July 1543

John Bayly (appointed by Henry VIII, resigned with effect from January 1549 when the first Book of Common Prayer was introduced)

20 Feb. 1549

Robert Brinknell (or Richard Brinknell, appointed by Edward VI)

1 April 1552 or

1 April 1549

Thomas Abbott MA, appointed by Sir William Goringe (until 1553)

2 June 1553

Roger Norwode BA appointed by Sir William Goringe (until 1554)

9 May 1554

Richard Redworth MA (or Redworthe), appointed by Sir William Goringe

2 June 1568

Randulph or Ranulph Becket, appointed by John Fromond

24 Sept. 1568

Robert Eston, appointed by John Fromond.

29 April 1569

Daniel Edwards, appointed by John Fromond (died 1571)

15 Feb. 1572

John ap Peers, a Welshman from Flintshire, appointed by John Fromond.

26 Feb. 1613

Peter Dawson or Danson MA, appointed by Mrs Sanchia Byne, Mrs Elizabeth Palmer and Mrs Susan Mowne, who moved in 1618 to become Vicar of Camberwell in place of his uncle who had died.

1624 or

1 May 1620

William Quelche BD, appointed by Edward Blower; his memorial in the Lady Chapel says he was "a certain Fryer some times Vicar of this place" up to his death on 10 April 1654.


no entries for which Revd William Quelch wrote a fulsome apology on 10 March 1651; this was a time of great upheaval and in 1644 Parliament branded Revd Peter Dawson (above) a malignant papist and royalist, and removed him from his living.


William Parkes, appointed by Charles Burton

12 Oct. 1661

Isaac Cowper, appointed by Henry Byne I, possibly not a priest but installed temporarily

21 Oct. 1674

Thomas Bradley MA DD, whose monument is in the south aisle, appointed by the Henry Byne I who refused to vow allegiance to William of Orange; Thomas therefore refused too, and was expelled from the living in 1689.

16 Dec. 1690

John Nelme BA, appointed to both Beddington and Carshalton by his father-in-law Henry Byne II, who was the last Lay Rector of Carshalton; Henry then gave the vicars half of the rectorial tithes which enabled them to become the kind of Rector we know today.

15 Nov. 1703

William Hillier or Hollier BA MA, appointed by Henry Byne II

5 Dec. 1738

Edmund Lodge BA MA, appointed by Henry Byne II who was made rector as part of the settlement of a property dispute with the Byne family; he left Carshalton in 1759 when he was promoted to Archdeacon.

6 June 1759

Robert Gilbert MA DD, appointed by Ann and Henry Byne II (died 30 November 1776)

Jan. 1777

William Rose MA, FRS, appointed by Joseph Rose, died 1829 and commemorated in the Lady Chapel.

27 August 1829

Charles Cator MA BD, appointed by John Cator imprisoned for debt and forced to resign in 1835

15 July 1835

William Hardy Vernon MA, appointed by John Cator, but his cousin Revd Charles Cator was still officially Rector, so perhaps William was Vicar (until 1845)

26 June 1845

William Albemarle B. Cator MA appointed by Albemarle Cator, highly regarded, despite his repetitive services, for his generous spirit and excellent sermons; he was com­mem­orated in 1894 by a new chancel east window; his uncle the Revd Charles Cator was still officially Rector in 1849, so perhaps William was Vicar. Bishop Anthony Thorold of Rochester visited Carshalton on 15th July 1881 and wrote that the Rector was "a queer odd tempered man, yet not without good humour, and manageable if dextrously handled, is under the impression his parish is one of the best worked in the diocese ... I can't help liking him..."


Lord Victor A Seymour MA, b.1859 fourth son of the 5th Marquess of Hertford, married Elizabeth Cator; he was keen on ecumenism and (controversially) Reservation of the Blessed Sacrament; d.1935, com­mem­orated in:

  • a Lady Chapel wall monument, commemorating the donation of...

  • ...the Lady Chapel window stained glass,

  • a family dedication in the Lady Chapel south east window,

  • Sir Ninian Comper's decoration of the 17th cnetury Grinling Gibbons reredos in the Lady Chapel,

  • and in the name of a local Infant school (now part of Greenshaw Learning Trust).


George P Trevelyan


George Bower Vaux MA (until 1919)

Extension of the church completed in 1914

1919 - 1957

William Robert Corbould: b. 1880, an extreme anglo-catholic (servers' nickname "Bob")

Organ moved to present position and all of the embellishments by Sir Ninian Comper (churchwarden) completed during these years

1958–31 Jan. 2001

Leigh Cameron Edwards MA b. 1917 (servers' nickname "Taffy").  During his Incumbnecy, the Churchyard was closed to new burials.


The right to choose a priest for the parish was given by the owner to the Bishops of Southwark

27 Sept. 2001 – 16 July 2017

John Charles Thewlis BA PhD b.1949, who described himself as "an historian" and played the organ at about 25% of the services

3 Nov 2019

David Stephen Fisher BTh (Oxon) SCP (formerlly Canon Precentor of Bangor Cathedral; licensed first as Priest-in-Charge 13 September 2018)

bottom of page